Ryan Tomski


I recently had the pleasure of performing with the legendary Doc Severisen and amazing Ernie Watts alongside Jim Pugh, Chip McNeill, and the University of Illinois Concert Jazz Band at the 2018 JEN Conference in Dallas.  This is a short excerpt from Alan Baylock's arrangement of "Night in Tunisia" in which I got the chance to accompany Doc.  Hope you enjoy!

WBGO plays William Paterson's Mulgrew Miller Ensemble featuring Dylan Meyers, Matt Tischio, Eric Zolan, Ryan Tomski, Daseul Kim, and Joe Spinelli:


- Stevens Point Journal - 

The UWSP Jazz Quintet, under the direction of Associate Professor Mathew Buchman, travelled to South Bend, Indiana on February 26th to perform at the 52nd Annual Notre Dame Jazz Festival.  Ensembles wishing to be invited to the prestigious festival submitted recordings to a review board in November.  This year, nine ensembles from around the country were selected to perform at Notre Dame, the nation’s oldest college jazz festival. 

Begun in 1959, one of the hallmarks of the Notre Dame Collegiate Jazz Festival is its focus on education and its noncompetitive status. The judges selected outstanding musicians, and provided a feedback session for each group immediately after it performed. Clinics by all the judges—with musical performances and a question and answer session—were open to all the performers and interested fans.  Past judges have included jazz legends Bill Evans, Stan Kenton, Quincy Jones, and Wynton Marsalis.  This year's judges were Jeff Clayton, alto sax; Ira Nepus, trombone; Llew Matthews, piano; Marion Hayden, bass; and Willie Jones III, drums.  

In addition to verbal and written feedback, judges rate seven aspects of each performance in the areas of Improvisation, Style/Interpretation, Rhythm/Time, Ensemble, Intonation, Technique, and Programming.   Each ensemble is then given a Division Rank according to the point totals.  The UWSP Jazz Quintet earned a Division I ranking, in addition to five Outstanding Musician Certificates.  Judges Llew Matthews and Ira Nepus awarded Certificates of Merit in Performance Excellence to Ben Hedquist;  Willie Jones III and Llew Matthews recognized Nicholas Claudio, and Matt Callope was awarded a Certificate of Merit by judge Ira Nepus.

The University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point Jazz Quintet is made up of upperclass music majors who have performed together since the summer of 2009.  With the exception of Music Education Major Matt Callope, all members of the ensemble are Jazz Performance Majors.  Each has also been a member of the UWSP Jazz Ensemble under the direction of Associate Professor Mathew Buchman, an ensemble which has recently enjoyed collaborations with Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra, The World Famous Count Basie Orchestra, Chris Potter’s Undergound, and The Donny McCaslin Quartet.  The UWSP Jazz Quintet is:  Matt Callope (trumpet), Nicholas Claudio (saxophones), Ryan Tomski (piano), Ben Hedquist (bass), and Matt Endres (drums).   


Make a free website with Yola